No announcement yet.

The big funding debate

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #46
    Originally posted by jjimbojames View Post
    I believe the money is the same for both tiers, so maybe JW asked to stay there - puts less pressure on her.

    I’m interested to see which relay Dobbin got in for - we’re yet to see the proposed move to 400m, but she seems to lack the out and out speed for the 4x1, when the likes of Henry are fighting to come back and youngsters like Hunt come into the mix
    Beth's story as a 200m runner will always be fantastic but they shoe horned her onto 4x4 funding last time, which has included a couple of relay performances around the 53 mark and no real appetite for the event. Only to do it again this time in the 4x1 team. There was no desire to include her at the Olympics in the 4x1 after seeing her earlier performances, both lacking foot speed and aggressiveness in the changeovers.

    Clearly the policy forces them into making shoe horned decisions to ultimately support those they want to support.


    • #47
      What's the deal with Eilish? Has she turned funding down?


      • jjimbojames
        jjimbojames commented
        Editing a comment
        She’s on Oly Podium Potential

      • SprintRelayFan
        SprintRelayFan commented
        Editing a comment
        Duh! I can't read. Sorry!

    • #48
      'British Athletics have announced the cohort of athletes supported by the Olympic and Paralympic Futures Academy Programme for 2021/22, which is supported by Nike.'

      Olympic Futures Transition

      Joshua Lay (Anthony Love, Rugby & Northampton) [Year 1]
      George Mills (Jon Bigg, Brighton Phoenix) [Year 1]
      Tade Ojora (Joanna Hayes, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow) [Year 1]
      Jake Smith (James Thie, Cardiff) [Year 1]

      Amber Anning (Dennis Shaver, Brighton and Hove) [Year 2]
      Cameron Fillery (Benke Blomkvist, Woodford Green Essex Ladies) [Year 2]
      Lucy Jane Matthews (Benke Blomkvist, Birchfield) [Year 2]
      Ben Pattison (Dave Ragan, Basingstoke & Mid Hants) [Year 2]

      Max Burgin (Ian Burgin, Halifax) [Year 3]
      Alastair Chalmers (Matt Elias, Guernsey) [Year 3]
      Charlie Dobson (Benke Blomkvist, Colchester) [Year 3]
      Lucy Hadaway (Matt Barton, City of York) [Year 3]
      Amy Hunt (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) [Year 3]
      Jade O’Dowda (John Lane, Newham and Essex Beagles) [Year 3]
      Divine Oladipo (Ashley Kovacs / John Hillier, Blackheath and Bromley) [Year 3]
      Erin Wallace (Andy Young, Giffnock North) [Year 3]

      Isabelle Boffey (Luke Gunn, Enfield and Haringey) [Year 4]

      Jake Norris (Paul Dickenson, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow) [Year 5]

      Olympic Futures Academy
      Sophie Ashurst (Andy Ashurst, Sale Harriers Manchester) [Year 1]
      Sam Brereton (Fuzz Caan, Birchfield Harriers) [Year 1]
      Charlie Carvell (Stuart Hamilton, Telford) [Year 1]
      Kane Elliott (William Sharp, Falkirk) [Year 1]
      Joy Eze (Mike Donnelly, Gateshead) [Year 1]
      Ed Faulds (James Wright, Rugby & Northampton) [Year 1]
      Ethan Hussey (Andrew Henderson, Leeds) [Year 1]
      Mary John (Alan James, Woodford Green Essex Ladies) [Year 1]
      Derek Kinlock (Nat Senior, Croydon) [Year 1]
      Toby Makoyawo (Peter Griffiths, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow) [Year 1]
      Henry Mcluckie (Geoff Watkin, Shaftesbury Barnet) [Year 1]
      Temi Ojora (Daniel Sawyers, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow) [Year 1]
      Abi Pawlett (Joe Frost, Trafford) [Year 1]
      Anna Purchase (Mohamad Saatara, Notts) [Year 1]
      Tara Simpson-Sullivan (Robert Halliwell, Wigan & District) [Year 1]

      Kelechi Aguocha (Fuzz Caan, Blackheath and Bromley) [Year 2]
      Daniel Falode (Guy Spencer, Cambridge) [Year 2]
      Thomas Keen (Mark Vile, Cambridge and Coleridge) [Year 2]
      Khahisa Mhlanga (Mick Judd, Herts Phoenix) [Year 2]
      Charlotte Payne (Paul Dickenson, Reading) [Year 2]
      Jodie Smith (Laura Turner-Alleyne, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow) [Year 2]
      Josh Zeller (Adrian Brown, Bracknell) [Year 2]

      Olympic Futures Relay
      Success Eduan (Anita Richardson, Sale Harriers Manchester)
      Sophie Walton (Trevor Williams, Horwich)
      (These athletes have been retained from 2021 and further athletes will be selected in due course)